Rank Advancement


Boy Scouting provides a series of surmountable obstacles and steps in overcoming them through the advancement method. The Boy Scout plans his advancement and progresses at his own pace as he meets each challenge. The Boy Scout is rewarded for each achievement, which helps him gain self-confidence. The steps in the advancement system help a Boy Scout grow in self-reliance and in the ability to help others. Read more about Advancement & Awards

ScoutRank_Scout Boy Scout Joining Requirements
ScoutRank_Tenderfoot Tenderfoot Rank Requirements
ScoutRank_SecondClass Second Class Rank Requirements
ScoutRank_FirstClass First Class Rank Requirements
ScoutRank_Star Star Rank Requirements
ScoutRank_Life Life Rank Requirements
ScoutRank_Eagle Eagle Rank Requirements



Coming Eagles – Check this out!

And here are the Eagle Scouts from Troop 682.



New rank requirements (2016)


For 2016:

Boys joining on or after Jan. 1, 2016 MUST use the new requirements.

Boys who have joined prior to Jan. 1, 2016:

  • Who are working on Tenderfoot through First Class MAY continue to work on the existing requirements, but MUST convert to the new requirements upon attaining First Class.
  • Who have completed First Class MAY complete the rank they are currently working on in the existing requirements, but then MUST convert to the new requirements for subsequent ranks.

For 2017:

All Scouts MUST use the new requirements regardless of rank.